Campus Asia


International Collaborative Human Resources Development Program in Asia to Foster Inclusive Minds (2022 – 2027)

Campus Asia is a consortium of six universities in China, Japan, Korea, Indonesia, and Thailand. The consortium concerns with social issues in today’s global society. To solve the social problems, it is necessary to collaborate with diverse human resources from different backgrounds and attributes, which is required to realize the principle of the SDG’s “Leave No One Behind.” Six Asian universities jointly train advanced talent to achieve the super-smart society and the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), Diversity and Inclusion (D&I).

Consortium Universities are :

  • Beijing Normal University (BNU), China
  • Changchun University (CU), China
  • Hankuk University of Foreign Studies (HUFS), Korea
  • Hiroshima University (HU), Japan
  • Universitas Pendidikan Indonsia (UPI), Indonesia
  • Kasetsart University (KU), Thailand

The consortium uses the strengths and characteristics of the participating universities to provide practical educational programs that will help students understand the diversity of society and sustainable development concepts, with a special focus on disabilities, language and area studies, peace, religion and minorities.

We will also offer a hybrid international education program that combines online and on-campus education programs using Information and Communication Technology (ICT), and implement the following four exchange programs;

COIL-type Collaborative Education Program for 1-2 months (P1)
Short-term Study Abroad Program for 1-2 weeks (P2),
Summer School titled “Inclusive Asia” for a week (P3), and
Semester Exchange Program (P4).

The project will include about 500 exchange students in total for 5 years; 50 students for P1 every year, 30 for P2, 22 for P3, 24 for P4.

The expected outcomes are fostering mutual understanding of an inclusive society in Asia, building a foundation for development with diversity in the region, expansion of academic collaboration in Asia, and future development of the joint graduate program in the field of D&I.

The program consists of (1) lectures on the course theme, (2) group work including
Ice-breakers, and (3) group presentations on Project Based Learning (PBL).
10 students from each country will participate in the program, making a total of 50

students. The first program will be held in February and March of 2022.

One faculty member from each country will be selected to jointly implement the online collaborative learning program (lecture, guidance on group presentation etc.).
Each university will grant credits equivalent to 2 UCTS to participating students.

15 students from HU will be dispatched to East Asia (China and Korea) and another 15 to Southeast Asia (Thailand and Indonesia).
The students will stay for one week at each country, where they will receive lectures on diversity and inclusion, language and culture, experiential learning, and student exchange.
The first program will be held in September 2022.
Each University will grant credits equivalent to 2 UCTS to participating students.

A summer school titled “Inclusive Asia” will be held at Hiroshima University for about one week.
6 students each from China, Korea and Japan, and 3 students each from Indonesia and Thailand will participate in the summer school.
BNU, CU, HUFS, UPI and KU send one faculty member to lead the students and give

lectures. One faculty member from HU also plays a role in the program.

The first program will be held in August 2022.
Each university will grant credits equivalent to 2 UCTS to the participating students.
Click Here

Students approach Diversity and Inclusion (D&I) from their own specialty at the host university.
BNU/CU, HUFS, and HU conduct semester-exchange programs, sending and receiving 2 students per year from each other.
BNU/CU, HUFS, and HU sends and receives 1 student per year from UPI and KU.

Participating students earn a minimum of 8 UCTS credits at their host university.


Beijing Normal University (BNU)


Changchun University (CU)

South Korea

Hankuk University of Foreign Studies (HUFS)


Universitas Pendidikan Indonesia (UPI)


Kasetsart University (KU)

Scroll to Top